New Eternals for the shrine

The Baseball Reliquary’s Shrine of Eternals announced their newest members today: Casey Stengel, Roger Angell and Pete Rose. Stengel’s omission has been, of course, a constant source of debate among those of us who follow the Shrine closely.

Here is more info from their press release:

CASEY STENGEL, in his 12th year on the ballot, was finally elected to the Shrine of the Eternals, being named on 38% of the ballots cast. ROGER ANGELL, in only his second year on the ballot (he appeared as a candidate one other time in 1999), received 31% of the vote. PETE ROSE, in his first appearance on the ballot, finished third in the voting with 30%.

Runners-up in the 12th annual election were: Dizzy Dean (29%), Maury Wills (29%), Ted Giannoulas (28%), Pete Gray (25%), Ernie Harwell (23%), Don Zimmer (23%), Jim “Mudcat” Grant (22%), Dr. Frank Jobe (22%), Luis Tiant (22%), Charles M. Conlon (21%), and Effa Manley (21%).

Fifty candidates appeared on the Shrine of the Eternals 2010 ballot, with voting conducted during the month of April by the membership of the Baseball Reliquary, a Southern California-based nonprofit organization dedicated to fostering an appreciation of American art and culture through baseball history. The three candidates receiving the highest percentage of votes gain automatic election.

The 2010 class of electees will be inducted into the Shrine of the Eternals in a ceremony at the Pasadena Central Library, Pasadena, California, on Sunday, July 18, 2010. On that day, Casey Stengel, Roger Angell, and Pete Rose will join thirty-three baseball luminaries previously elected to the Shrine, including in alphabetical order: Jim Abbott, Dick Allen, Emmett Ashford, Moe Berg, Yogi Berra, Ila Borders, Jim Bouton, Jim Brosnan, Bill Buckner, Roberto Clemente, Steve Dalkowski, Rod Dedeaux, Jim Eisenreich, Dock Ellis, Mark Fidrych, Curt Flood, Josh Gibson, William “Dummy” Hoy, Shoeless Joe Jackson, Bill James, Bill “Spaceman” Lee, Roger Maris, Marvin Miller, Minnie Minoso, Buck O’Neil, Satchel Paige, Jimmy Piersall, Pam Postema, Jackie Robinson, Lester Rodney, Fernando Valenzuela, Bill Veeck, Jr., and Kenichi Zenimura.

While full details on the Shrine of the Eternals 2010 Induction Day will be forthcoming shortly, the Baseball Reliquary is pleased to announce that the keynote speaker for this year’s ceremony will be David Kipen, author, former book critic and essayist for the San Francisco Chronicle and National Public Radio, and former Director of Literature at the National Endowment for the Arts, where he managed the Big Read, the NEA’s largest literary initiative.

The Hardball Times has covered Baseball Reliquary’s ceremonies in the past. It is always a fun time for baseball fans.

Dave Studeman was called a "national treasure" by Rob Neyer. Seriously. Follow his sporadic tweets @dastudes.

Comments are closed.